New Poster Devlopment

May 7, 2014 § Leave a comment

idea – donut man – collage, going back to what i said I’d do, fun and quirky

So, since my last poster was a generic piece of shit, I wanted to create a new one, that followed the style I originally wanted to progress with, the whimsical and playful looking style. I liked the idea of progressing the cartoony donut style, this time using it in a way that’s more substantial to the matter at hand: celebrating the artist, in Tyler’s case that’s celebrating the MTV Moonman award that he won for best new artist. I used this in my last design, but it was far too subtle to be recognised, so this time I made it the centre of attention. I used the same process I did with the modified XL logo for the moonman, outlining (roughly, on purpose) then adding a 3D layer. I tried various thicknesses for the 3D, and settled with the one below which seemed to work most effectively. I wanted to still incorporate the inverted cross prevalent in Tyler’s designs, but thought it didn’t really fit as part of the flag pole, so I decided to instead move this into the centre of the Moonman’s chest, which seemed a little bare anyway. I tested a lot of different compositions, arranging text alternatively, playing with size and angle. I wanted to get more of a playfulness out of the text, so I used a handwritten looking typeface ‘Brain Flower’, and positioned them to get the look that they’d just been placed there, or are bouncing around freely. The colours used mainly derive from Tyler’s colour schemes, however the final poster colour is just a complementary colour of the pink within the design, which works harmoniously with the rest of the design. The gallery at the bottom contains these developmental factors.

“They success is the best revenge”
These are the lyrics I’ve in my new poster. I feel these best fit with the matter, working very well with the event and the award.

Screen Shot 2014-05-15 at 14.13.15   Screen Shot 2014-05-15 at 13.17.08 Screen Shot 2014-05-15 at 13.22.10 Screen Shot 2014-05-15 at 13.19.31 Screen Shot 2014-05-15 at 13.19.49 Screen Shot 2014-05-15 at 13.19.58

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Poster Devlopment at Leo Patterson.

meta

