App Logo

May 7, 2014 § Leave a comment

These are the sketches I initially made to possibly use for the app, I wanted to use the colour scheme I’ve used throughout somehow, while maybe showing movement too, via connecting the letters.

I made my own basic typeface, experimenting with frequency, stroke weight, colour, rounded & pointed edges, and blend modes.

I settled with the basic typeface, but used the X within it to represent the movement aspect of the app and its functionality, where each line is a different colour, representing each mode of travel. I brought these together using the multiply blend mode ti gain the same colour of the background colour I’m using for my designs. This was then used as the centre piece to the logo, using the characters on either side of the design to form the name. My second design option would have been the stubier version, with the text sitting inside, however, I feel the 4 long coloured strokes meeting in the middle accurately represented the map’s (diagram) routes.

Sketch 6  Sketch 4

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 16.43.38

The starting logo / typeface

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 16.43.53

Variations

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 16.44.01

The logo ideas that led me to my final design outcome

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 16.44.51

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 16.45.27

Experimenting with layout

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 16.45.12

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 16.45.32

The second option I left behind

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 16.45.45

The final logo design

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading App Logo at Leo Patterson.

meta

