Time Diagram Creation

May 6, 2014 § Leave a comment

My first analytical diagram is to show the time spent moving over the course of the week. I followed the idea up of one of my sketches that used this rough design layout.

To gain an accurate interpretation of my data, I firstly needed to create some sort of scale to work to to plot my data accordingly; I created a simple metre, rounded it to 200(mm) and then inserted a line along it every 1mm, changing the colour to red for every 5mm, and blue for every 10mm after, for me to quickly plot. I’d then make a semi circle from a standard one, creating another small circle in the middle, as I feel it would be easier to understand the data if there were some clear boundaries, rather than it going into the centre of the shape. By doing this I feel it also adds more to it, it becomes an arc, which looks less conventional. To represent days I’d divide the shape in 1/7ths from the centre, with each line of the segment corresponding to a day.
To plot the data, I’d use my spreadsheet that I’d readied earlier for this exact reason. I felt that using a full circle would work better, and it would also fill out the design more, so I followed up with this and decided it worked better. Upon plotting the data, I realised there was a lot of empty space, so I reduced the size to match that of the rounded number of the largest number.

Using common sense the user should be able to easily read my diagrams, with the aid of a key/legend (that I’m yet to create).

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 14.08.28

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 14.11.06

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 14.11.45

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Time Diagram Creation at Leo Patterson.

meta

