Scale

May 6, 2014 § Leave a comment

I’ve been playing around with different ways of displaying a proper scale to be used in my final designs, as the one I’ve been using has only been for my benefit allowing me to quickly and accurately plot data, this however would look ugly on the actual design. Things I’ve had to consider include the colour of this, bearing in mind I’m working on a dark grey background, the scale’s visibility; do I want it to be very apparent, or just be there faintly in the background? How will I layer it, will it be on top of the main design, or underneath it? Will I inform the viewer as to what the scale equates to? And look at frequency and accuracy of it, because how I see it, it’s one or another.

I decided to go with a white scale, as this gains the best clarity, being on a dark background. I’m going to go with the less frequent markers, as this doesn’t distract from the main design, but also informs the viewer with what they need to know, going up in 1s, 10s, or 100s, as this is easy to read. By doing it this way I don’t see the need for a key explaining the scale of the diagram, as what I’m presenting to them should be readable by using their common sense. If the largest number on the diagram is 97, with the scale ending at more or less this point, the viewer should see that it goes up in 10s up to 100.

Other experimentation i did included size of the markers and their colours: below you can see this:

Scale

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Scale at Leo Patterson.

meta

