Distance

May 6, 2014 § Leave a comment

The distance diagram sketches began by basing them upon a pie chart like diagram, however I wanted to move away from this typical diagram convention, and added my own twist, requiring 4 separate sections (for the 4 methods of transport) to every 7th (days) of the segmented circle.

I began my design by using a diagram that I felt looked like a radial diagram which represents distance proximity. However, upon creating this diagram, I realised it was maybe a bit too bland. I changed my design basing it upon the same layout, but instead using vertical segments along each section of the diagram, making it some sort of pie chart / bar chart hybrid thing.
I looked at the ordering possibilities of the diagram, looking at how I could either order it colour, or size. I initially liked the look of the size orientated diagram, however this wouldn’t have worked due to the data being scattered around, not in a coherent fashion, making it far harder to read, and less efficient. With this realisation I plotted it by colour; where it would be ordered in a linear manner, allowing for easy readability, distinction, and a diagrammatic flow. I began looking at different ways of arranging the framework of the diagram, deciding upon the use of a radial method of framework. I chose this as it allows for all four sections of each 1/7th segment to be read upon the scale, using a scale on each segment looks messy and fussy, the ring like scale looks clean, minimal, and is efficient.
The final step was to add the annotations, the statistics to show precision of data plotting, and a reference to the diagram itself, like I’d done with my previous two diagrams. I had three options to choose from: 1) numbers presented along the radial lines 2) numbers shown vertically aligned along the section, and 3) having them vertically placed on the section line, but horizontally aligned. I chose the 2nd option, as this looked the nicest, was streamline with the design, and could be read easily.
A finishing touch I added a fade at the end of the line stroke, at the end of each section (day) to further add flow to the diagram.

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 14.39.46

Initial thoughts and mock ups

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 14.40.37

Version one of the diagram

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 15.51.00

… without the frame/guide

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 15.51.14

Version 2 mock ups and possibilities, looking at stroke, order and colour

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 16.22.37

Finished diagram, with guides/framework

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 16.24.10

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 16.24.55

Here you can see the faded stroke on the vertical lines, representing days

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 16.25.10

 

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 16.22.54

Diagram with new radial rings as the framework: with a little common sense this will be easily read

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 16.26.29

Ways of presenting the statistics

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Distance at Leo Patterson.

meta

