Cost

May 6, 2014 § Leave a comment

For the cost diagram I decided to use a triangle as my basic form of data plotting, simply because I wanted to incorporate a shape variation in my work. I intended to use a bar chart like layout for this design, moving away from the boring convention of rectangular plottings, insead using triangles.

I went with the single triangle with others within it to represent each day, with each triangle (of that day) representing a mode of transportation. I’d layer these like I did with the previous diagram, with the most abundant data/colour going to the bottom layer, and the least to the top, allowing for easy reading. I used the same guide/scale process as I did with the time diagram, and will again use for my next and final diagram. Upon plotting the first day, I looked at how I’d present this/these, experimenting with fill, stroke, opacity and framework. I really like the single stroke style, it was simple, and moved away from the similarity of the first diagram, it also enhances the readability as non of them are abstracted by one another, as they are their own things, rather than being layered upon each other. Despite liking this style, I continued to experiment with it to see other outcomes, looking at composition, layering, and fill and stroke. I then began looking at how I’d use a guide/framework to position the data into context, looking at frequency, colour, opacity, and markings, as well as labelling. I decided to go the minimalist route, which was to display the data on a frame of hundreds, going to 400, as this is the largest rounded number in this data set. Next I looked upon labelling my diagram; for this I used a dashed line which progressed to the exact data corresponding to the mode of transport, again all recognisable and related via the colour scheme I’ve set. I tested different sizes to the diagram also, but settled with the flatter triangles, which are based upon a perfect triangle.I experimented also with a vertical version, but decided to stick with the horizontal one.

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 14.27.27

Ideas on how to present the data

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 14.28.10

A dat’s data plotted in one triangle, and possible design variations

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 14.29.08

The whole week’s worth of data plotted, and the variations they could be presented as, looking at framework, fill, and stroke

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 14.29.27

Fill variations, looking at composition. The lower designs begin to retract from the ease of readability, so I scrapped these

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 14.29.41

Again looking at the composition and layering of the data, experimenting with the alternative stroke/no fill

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 14.31.41

The guide/framework options

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 14.32.39

Composition options

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 14.32.35

Labelling options

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 14.32.19 Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 14.31.57

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cost at Leo Patterson.

meta

