Seminar Notes

February 12, 2014 § Leave a comment

These are notes taken from a seminar with Warren and Rob:

Rob:

Create concepts (rough ones initially, that aren’t true) which show alternative design solutions. What context is my geographical data: marketing, data representation, trends? Apply a context (it could simply be imagined) to my work – don’t restrict myself. Lifestyle – activity monitor > journalistic stuff > narrative journalism – making people understand your data easily – common sense makes you understand data e.g. thicker lines = more frequently travelled, thinner = less > people are the filler, they work out the gaps, you simply have to make it easy enough for them to do that! Taking a stance for the material I’m presenting > what’s my agenda/perspective/need etc. I need to narrow down my agenda, focus it. Define my work – home in. Nodes > effectively what can I do with a line (properties) – the language of lines Jeremy Wood (gpsdrawing.com) – my ghost Different types of journeys – happy / sad / emotional / imporant / reason : Narrative impacts – time/date > categorising the role of the journey. Experimentaiton as to how that jounrey (experience) is represented : symbols, colour, shape, stroke can all determine this. Keep experimenting with the possible viuals of my data set Chaotic / simple Etching – laser cutter: perspex (inks?), different materials Experimental visual stuff > different mediums Since the concept is good and there, I have the ability to play with it! Get my maps routed so I can do this. Why do I take the particualr routes I do? Public transport = set / Bike = efficient, most fun, no cost, free roam, environmentally friendly, healthy / Car = fast, traffic, roads Do I want my data all on one page, or spread across individual dedicated pages? Look at maps and their use of line. I need to keep all the maps (on google) at the same size, othwerise it will majorly screw up the process of collage overlaying. Reasons for travelling that day. Seminar with Warren: Notes made beforehand, to show at seminar: -mock up of maps – static & moving – ways of showing a line – Data I’m comparing and contrasting – types of graphs to potentially use/modify – range – analysation methods> want them to work in harmony – overlapping mock up of journeys Zoomed out 3x google maps (POST) What to use from data: all, 1 month, 2 weeks,1 week? Graphic langauge that will be used? With maps and the lined route to display length of jounrey, I can stretch that line into a straight one? Be selective with my data, I haven’t got time to do everything! WARREN: Intensely blitz all research etc. to optimise design time, since I want to maximise this. Who’s my target audience? How will they react? Need to create a target, not such a borad thing. Who will apreciate it (always someone)? And why? Meet a need – push the audience’s buttons – Find a purpose / contextual stuff Format – ideas _ book / animation / prints / physical Identify who will appreicate it! ‘Day in the life’ film ergonomics – monitoring everyday life > from a heart attack patient. Sports / medical : active lifestyle Where would my work migrate to other potentials – the diversity of it > the concept / principle is there : the bigger picture: Commercial? App? be specific Research: Animated Maps

 

Warren:

restrict myself.

Lifestyle – activity monitor > journalistic stuff > narrative journalism – making people understand your data easily – common sense makes you understand data e.g. thicker lines = more frequently travelled, thinner = less > people are the filler, they work out the gaps, you simply have to make it easy enough for them to do that!

Taking a stance for the material I’m presenting > what’s my agenda/perspective/need etc. I need to narrow down my agenda, focus it. Define my work – home in.

Nodes > effectively what can I do with a line (properties) – the language of lines

Jeremy Wood (gpsdrawing.com) – my ghost

Different types of journeys – happy / sad / emotional / imporant / reason : Narrative impacts – time/date > categorising the role of the journey. Experimentaiton as to how that jounrey (experience) is represented : symbols, colour, shape, stroke can all determine this.
Keep experimenting with the possible viuals of my data set
Chaotic / simple

Etching – laser cutter: perspex (inks?), different materials
Experimental visual stuff > different mediums
Since the concept is good and there, I have the ability to play with it!
Get my maps routed so I can do this.

Why do I take the particualr routes I do? Public transport = set / Bike = efficient, most fun, no cost, free roam, environmentally friendly, healthy / Car = fast, traffic, roads

Do I want my data all on one page, or spread across individual dedicated pages? Look at maps and their use of line.
I need to keep all the maps (on google) at the same size, othwerise it will majorly screw up the process of collage overlaying.

Reasons for travelling that day.

Seminar with Warren:

Notes made beforehand, to show at seminar:
-mock up of maps – static & moving

– ways of showing a line
– Data I’m comparing and contrasting

– types of graphs to potentially use/modify – range – analysation methods> want them to work in harmony

– overlapping mock up of journeys

Zoomed out 3x google maps (POST)

What to use from data: all, 1 month, 2 weeks,1 week?
Graphic langauge that will be used?

With maps and the lined route to display length of jounrey, I can stretch that line into a straight one?
Be selective with my data, I haven’t got time to do everything!

Intensely blitz all research etc. to optimise design time, since I want to maximise this.
Who’s my target audience? How will they react? Need to create a target, not such a borad thing. Who will apreciate it (always someone)? And why? Meet a need – push the audience’s buttons – Find a purpose / contextual stuff
Format – ideas _ book / animation / prints / physical
Identify who will appreicate it!
‘Day in the life’ film
ergonomics – monitoring everyday life > from a heart attack patient.

Sports / medical : active lifestyle
Where would my work migrate to other potentials – the diversity of it > the concept / principle is there : the bigger picture: Commercial? App?
be specific

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Seminar Notes at Leo Patterson.

meta

