Seminar with Rob

January 23, 2014 § Leave a comment

Margot’s away ill at the moment, so we’ve instead had our seminar lead by Rob today. This was nice for the reason that we had someone new having input in our session, gaining a fresh perspective. These were my notes:

The audience can read your data in different ways – a multi layered graphical representation of frequency and pattern (of my movement). This can be compared to that of pheromone trails, such as those left by ants, so in a way I’m leaving my own pheromone trails everywhere I go, which I make evident when illustrating.

https://i0.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/2/2a/Aco_TSP.svg/600px-Aco_TSP.svg.png

I need to start experimenting with various methods of displaying my statistical data sets, looking at graphs, diagrams and other analysation methods. These experiments can simply be concepts, with data that’s inaccurate, just so I can convey an idea, this allows me to quickly present alternate design solutions.

I need to think of a context for my data set, look into environmental (being environmentally friendly etc.), economic (cost, efficiency, distance, geographical reason) and social (health and wellbeing, fun, group activity) factors that can be considered. Don’t be restricted by literal contexts relative to my data, I can apply my work to any context really.
Look at trends, comparisons, contrasting points, this will allow for more ways of displaying my data, using multiple methods of presentation. I can look at my data in the context of lifestyle (activity & inactivity), where I can present it in a journalistic manner; narrative journalism.

I have to make my represented data easily digestible so the audience can easily understand it, in general, common sense makes you understand data visualisations e.g. with lines, the thicker, more apparent (if opacity’s involved) the line, the larger the frequency, so in the instance of a map this would show how much that route has been travelled.

Travel over time – specify days where I have more/less activity e.g. Sundays are pretty static in comparison to a day I’m at University (where I travel to two cities).
Types of journeys – narrative impacts: time/date, emotions & feelings, reasoning behind travel – categorising the role of the journey.
– Why do I take the particular routes that I do
– public transport = set (can’t change the route)
– bike = efficient, most fun, fast (compared to walking), free
– car = fastest, expensive to run, free roam, traffic, offered a lift
Use of colour, symbols, shape, stroke can all determine the journey experience.

I want to establish an agenda/context, narrowing it down as much as possible so I can work to that specification, define my work.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Seminar with Rob at Leo Patterson.

meta

