Design Process

November 14, 2013 § Leave a comment

My design process would only require me to create one segment of the mandala design, as this would then be repeated depending on how many repetitions I decided to have in my mandala. With the designs I created here, I used 8, 16 and 20 repetitions. I decided to work predominantly with circular designs, as this is more of a traditional representation of a mandala. To gain the initial shape of which I’d use as a template, I’d firstly create said shape in Adobe Illustrator to get the correct dimensions and angles, making sure it will all fit together to form a perfect circle at the end. Here I’d also create the masks of which I’d use on some of the designs. I then used Adobe Photoshop to compose the bottle caps how I intended to do so, following some of my sketches entirely. The process is visually documented below.

This is one of the mandalas I decided no to use, since I was trying to keep a uniformity within my deisgns using circular based mandalas; it’s a variation of the circular version I’ve made:
Screen Shot 2014-05-12 at 16.59.01

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Design Process at Leo Patterson.

meta

