Talk with John

October 17, 2013 § Leave a comment

When concerned with narrative, I don’t know where I’m going with the bottle caps as of yet. John suggested giving each bottle cap a story of sorts, if I were to collect these stories it could be via social media, I could ask people on websites such as Facebook, Twitter, Reddit, and blogs. He told me to look at Peter Blake’s work, who uses popular western culture to form his work.

Upon further thinking, I’m no longer considering this route, mainly due to it sounding unappealing to me, if I were to engage with this route I can’t see myself enjoying it.

Questions prompted by Susan Sontag (‘On Photography’):

What are you trying to show in your collection?

  • A slice of time?
  • What is dissaoearing?
  • A souvenir?
  • To raise a moral conscience?
  • To give information?
  • Aesthetic consumerism?

“This is the surface, but what lays beyond it?”

are these “invitations to deduction, speculation and fantasy”

Can you disrupt the thoughts of others by what you are showing?

Remember you need to include all your 30 items in the presentation of your taxonomy. You are in control of the colour so consider the art direction of what you present.

Don’t overlook simple options,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Talk with John at Leo Patterson.

meta

