Seminar week 3

October 17, 2013 § Leave a comment

In today’s seminar with Joe I talked about how I wanted to progress with my idea of using photo manipulation, in particular using the techniques of pattern, recursion, repetition, symmetry, and balance, to form some psychedelic pieces.
Further research led me to look at mandalas, and loosely looking at their use religiously and culturally around the world. Joe made a valid point talking about how the trippy visuals of a mandala could be related to the drunken blurry and wobbly vision one attains from consuming too much alcohol, and in contrast the religious and meditational conventions of the mandala to alcohol.
When experimenting with this I’ll consider the following factors:

  • Colour use
  • Arrangement
  • Composition
  • Contrast of details i.e. Graphic and typographic aspects
  • Simplicity vs complexity
  • Dissection of bottle caps (taking certain elements from them)
  • Angles
  • Layering
  • Opacity
  • Number of bottle caps

I was told it would be a good idea to focus on creating a few good designs of my own, instead of 30 mediocre ones, anyway, creating 30 would prove to be very time consuming, or so I’d imagine.

My next step is to experiment with this idea and create a range of results by experimenting and applying the above factors into my bottle cap collection.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Seminar week 3 at Leo Patterson.

meta

